Skip to content ↓
Carshalton High School for Girls

Carshalton High School for Girls

Carshalton High School for Girls is a highly successful school, judged by Ofsted in November 2017 as ‘Good’ in all categories.

Year 7

Miss Stanley
Year Leader
Miss Williams
Assistant Year Leader
Mrs Watkins
Pastoral Support Officer

Year 7 is an exciting time; a new school, new friends, new subjects and new teachers.  Students are actively encouraged to get involved in every aspect of school life.  Once the year has started the Year 7 pastoral team, including the Senior Leader, Year Leader, Form Tutors, Pastoral Support Assistant and support staff, all work hard to ensure the students settle in happily.

There are a number of events and schemes in place to help students settle in. Early in the first half term we run team building exercises where students and tutors take time off the normal timetable and partake in fun activities designed to bond a tutor group and help new friendships form. Later in the first term we run a ‘Meet the Tutor Evening’ when parents are invited into meet their daughter’s tutor and discuss how they have settled in so far.

For those students who need a little more support we run a peer mentoring system where a selection of our Year 10 ‘Transition Team’ students are extensively trained and then build relationships with specific Year 7 students within a safe environment.   As a year team we also work very closely with the Learning Support Department to provide nurture groups and additional academic support where necessary.

One of the key features to students feeling safe and happy in school is effective communication. If you do have and questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact either the Year Leader or Form Tutor, either by phone or email (addresses below).

Important Dates

30th September 2021 Meet the Tutor & Parents' Info Event
29th Nov - 3rd Dec 2021 Exams Week (1)
24th February 2022 Year 7 Parents' Consultations
14th-18 March 2022 Exams Week (2)
4th-8th July 2022 Exams Week (3)

Year 7 Team

   
Year Leader
Miss Stanley
lstanley@carshaltongirls.org.uk
Asst Year Leader
Miss Williams
awilliams@carshaltongirls.org.uk
Pastoral Officer
Mrs Watkins
bwatkins@carshaltongirls.org.uk
7B1
Mrs Stangroom
sstangroom@carshaltongirls.org.uk
7B2
Miss Nelson
lnelson@carshaltongirls.org.uk
7G1
Miss Bahk
sbahk@carshaltongirls.org.uk
7G2
Ms Henry
jhenry@carshaltongirls.org.uk
7R1
Miss Trout
etrout@carshaltongirls.org.uk
7R2
Mr Castro
jcastro@carshaltongirls.org.uk
7Y1
Mrs Nawaid
lnawaid@carshaltongirls.org.uk
7Y2
Miss Collins
ecollins@carshaltongirls.org.uk

Useful Websites

Whilst both you as parents and us as teachers work hard to ensure your daughters are happy and safe, there are times when you need a little more information or advice. In these situations please do not hesitate to contact the school. Alternatively, you may find one of the website’s below of use.

www.ChildLine.org.uk for advice on a wide range of issues and access to a counsellor

www.talktofrank.com for advice on drugs or substance misuse

www.b-eat.co.uk/Home for advice on eating disorders

www.onespace.org.uk/ an online community for single parents to get advice or support

www.parentlineplus.org.uk/ a national charity who provide support for parents

www.forcedmarriage.net/ for advice on forced marriages