Skip to content ↓
Carshalton High School for Girls

Carshalton High School for Girls

Carshalton High School for Girls is a highly successful school, judged by Ofsted in November 2017 as ‘Good’ in all categories.

Learning Support

The Learning Support department operates as an integral part of the school enabling students with special educational needs to work alongside their peers in the classroom and thereby foster the development of a positive self image.

We ensure that all departments recognise and support the entitlement of pupils with special needs, to provide access to a broad, balanced and relevant curriculum.

The Learning Support department also ensures that every student has the opportunity and resources to realise their potential and abilities; practical, intellectual, physical and social, within a supportive environment.

Mr James leads the department with the help of his deputy Mrs Wheeler and a number of learning support assistants to maximise students' progress and attainment.

All staff are dedicated and committed to meeting the needs of the students on the SEN register.

The departments works closely with external agencies such as Speech and Language Service, Educational Psychology Service and many others to ensure assessments are made and appropriate provision where possible is put in place to support our students.

Department Staff

SENDCo Mr C James cjames27@suttonmail.org
Deputy SENDCo Mrs A Wheeler awheeler28@suttonmail.org
HTLA - Speech & Language Mrs J Willis jwillis3@suttonmail.org
HTLA - Behaviour Mrs J Harmsworth jharmsworth1@suttonmail.org
Senior Learning Support Assistant Mrs S McKenzie smackenzie1@suttonmail.org
Senior Learning Support Assistant EAL Mrs L Shelton lshelton@suttonamil.org
Learning Support Assistant Mrs A Baldock abaldock1@suttonmail.org
Learning Support Assistant Mrs B Chamberlain bchamberlain1@suttonmail.org
Learning Support Assistant Mrs S Franco sfranco1@suttonmail.org
Learning Support Assistant Ms Z Fulton zfulton@suttonmail.org
Learning Support Assistant Mr A O'Sullivan aosullivan36@suttonmail.org
Learning Support Assistant Mrs T Puvirajan  
Behaviour Support Officer Mrs G Sparks gsparks@suttonmail.org