Skip to content ↓
Carshalton High School for Girls

Carshalton High School for Girls

Carshalton High School for Girls is a highly successful school, judged by Ofsted in November 2017 as ‘Good’ in all categories.

Year 8

Mrs Devaney
Year Leader
Miss L Oladokun
Assistant Year Leader
Mrs Newman
Pastoral Officer

Year 8 is an exciting year for students at Carshalton High School for Girls , they are no longer the “juniors” of the school and start to feel much more confident in their lessons.  The students also have begun to form friendships that will hopefully see them through to Year 11.

Year 8 students are also offered the unique opportunity of acting as school receptionists.  Each student takes it in turn to spend a whole day working with another student on reception.  This involves taking urgent messages to students, checking registers, doing lesson checks, collecting work for students who are not in their usual lessons and meeting and greeting visitors to the school.  The students thoroughly enjoy this day and it really helps them to learn their way around the school and see the range of tasks undertaken by staff around the school.

Year 8 students also become more readily involved in the many extra-curricular activities on offer at Carshalton Girls. Students are heavily involved in the inter-form House competitions, debating club, dance shows, drama productions etc. 

Of course the other major preoccupation for Year 8 students is the Option Choice process, this starts before Easter.  Following an Options Evening for parents and students held in March.  Great care is taken to provide students with saster sessions of their choice before their final options are selected.

Important Dates

21st November 2019 Parents' Evening
19th March 2020 Options Evening/Careers Fair
8th-12th June 2020 Year 8 Exams

 

Year 8 Team

Year Leader

Mrs Devaney

ndevaney@carshaltongirls.org.uk

Assistant Year Leader Mrs Oladokun loladokun@carshaltongirls.org.uk

Pastoral Officer

Mrs W Newman

wnewman@carshaltongirls.org.uk

8HL1

Mrs Chung cchung@carshaltongirls.org.uk

8HL2

Miss Bromfield mbromfield@carshaltongirls.org.uk

8PK1

Miss Hocking ehocking@carshaltongirls.org.uk

8PK2

Mr Ross-Dreher jross-dreher@carshaltongirls.org.uk

8RD1

Mrs Patel-Wyeth

npatel@carshaltongirls.org.uk
 8RD2 Miss Johnson kjohnson@carshaltongirls.org.uk

8RW1

Mrs Sohante

 gsohante@carshaltongirls.org.uk

 8RW2 Mr Treagust ttreagust@carshaltongirls.org.uk