Skip to content ↓
Carshalton High School for Girls

Carshalton High School for Girls

Carshalton High School for Girls is a highly successful school, judged by Ofsted in November 2017 as ‘Good’ in all categories.

Year 10

 

Miss Marshall
Year Leader
 Ms Johnson
Assistant Year Leader
Mrs Warren
Pastoral Officer

As GCSE courses continue, the ethos for the year group is very much about focus, motivation, resilience and achievement. Students will be introduced to new concepts and skills in all their subjects and are encouraged to approach these with enthusiasm and maturity. This is also a good time for students to engage more within the school community by participating in and running events, whether as a tutor group, year group or with their House. Skills gained in this process will be essential for when students go on Work Experience and can also be recorded in the Edge as they work towards the Apprentice or Graduate Level. Work Experience is an excellent opportunity to learn more about the world of work; as well as help them when considering their future and further education.

Tutor time will be used to develop study skills, explore culture and social issues through the British values programme and utilising time appropriately to ensure deadlines are met and to catch up on any missed work.

The year group have a key stage assembly on Wednesdays which are often led by faculty areas and showcase the excellence in the school as well as marking key events. We also come together as a year group on Fridays for an assembly. This enables us to celebrate our successes and for students and staff to share information and ideas.

Within each tutor group, students are voted into roles of responsibility and a particular highlight for many in the year group is becoming a Prefect after being an Ambassador in Year 9. This involves supporting students in other years as well as the whole school community. Responsibilities are taken seriously by students, as they recognise the importance and expectations of the role. All members of the year group are given the opportunity to share their thoughts and opinions through the student voice focus group that aim to liaise with staff to make effective changes for the year group.

This year our priority is achieving the best grades possible and to encourage all students to reach their full potential at GCSE.

Mrs Warren and Mrs Mellish will continue to work with the tutor team to support students to help overcome any barriers to learning. If parents have any concerns about students' learning or wellbeing at school, please contact their form tutor.

Important Dates

8th October 2020 Parents' Evening
10th-14th May 2021 Work Experience
20th-27th April 2020 Year 10 Exams

Year 10 Team

Year Leader Miss Marshall jmarshall@carshaltongirls.org.uk
Assistant Year Leader Ms Johnson djohnson@carshaltongirls.org.uk
Pastoral Officer Mrs Warren swarren@carshaltongirls.org.uk
 10HL1 Mrs Lane mlane@carshaltongirls.org.uk
 10HL2 Mrs Stockley mstockley@carshaltongirls.org.uk
 10PK1    
 10PK2 Mrs Sypko-Shah msypko-shah@carshaltongirls.org.uk

10RD1

Mr Gowar mgowar@carshaltongirls.org.uk
10RD2 Ms Lagess alagess@carshaltongirls.org.uk

10RW1

Mrs Nawaid lnawaid@carshaltongirls.org.uk

10RW2

Miss Haque

fhaque@carshaltongirls.org.uk