Skip to content ↓
Carshalton High School for Girls

Carshalton High School for Girls

Carshalton High School for Girls is a highly successful school, judged by Ofsted in November 2017 as ‘Good’ in all categories.

Author Event - Sarah Govett

Author Sarah Govett will be visiting CHSG on Wednesday 30th January as part of Storytelling Week.

Author Sarah Govett will be visiting CHSG on Wednesday 30th January as part of Storytelling Week.

We're excited to let you know that to celebrate National Story Telling Week children’s author Sarah Govett, will be visiting Carshalton High School for Girls on Wednesday 30th January to talk about her books and life as an authorYour daughter will have the opportunity to meet the author, ask questions, and buy personally signed and dedicated copies of her books. 

Should you wish to purchase books, you can pre-order directly from the publisher by Sunday 27th January. A number of books will also be available to purchase on the day.

 We hope your daughter will benefit greatly from this visit! 

About the Author

Sarah Govett, 39, graduated with a first-class degree in Law from Oxford University. After qualifying as a solicitor, she set up her own tutoring agency, Govett Tutors, which specialises in helping children from all backgrounds prepare for exams. Govett has also written children’s programmes for Britain’s Channel 5 television network.

Govett’s first instalment in her dystopian young-adult trilogy, The Territory, launched in May 2015, followed by the sequel, Escape, in October 2016, and the finale, Truth, on 1 April 2018.

The critically acclaimed The Territory was shortlisted for the Times Chicken House Children’s Fiction Prize in 2014 and won the Gateshead Teen Book Prize in February 2017. It also won the Trinity Schools Book Award in 2018 (as voted for by children from the 24 participating schools across London and the South East).

The Guardian’s children’s book site called The Territory ‘the 1984 of our time’ and the book was one of The Telegraph’s ‘Best YA books of 2015.’ Truth was one of The Guardian’s ‘Children’s books of the month’ in May. The series is also included in Book Trust’s recommended reads. The television and film rights have recently been optioned by New Pictures Ltd.

In addition to her speaking engagements at schools across the UK, Govett has  appeared at the Southbank Literature Festival, The Barnes Children’s Literature Festival and The Edinburgh International Book Festival. She has featured on BBC Radio and is a contributor to Huffington Post.

Govett grew up in Richmond-upon-Thames and now lives in nearby Sheen with her husband and their three young children.

About the Books

The Territory (Book 1)

Limited space requires limited numbers. The year is 2059. Noa Blake is just another normal 15 year-old. Except in The Territory normal isn't normal. The richest children have a node on the back of their necks and can download information and bypass the need to study. In a flooded world of dwindling resources, Noa and the other 'Norms' have their work cut out to even compete. And competing is everything - because anybody who fails the TAA exam at 15 will be shipped off to the malarial Wetlands, which means a life of misery, if not certain death. But how to focus when your heart is being torn in two directions at once?

Gripping dystopia with a keen political edge - Metro

The Telegraph Best YA books of 2015

A truly exceptional novel - Booktrust

The 1984 of our time - Guardian Children’s Books website

The Territory - Escape (Book 2) - The exams are over but the struggle is just beginning.

With an electric fence, gun towers and a police state monitoring their every move, attempting a rescue mission into the Wetlands looks impossible, let alone getting home again. Second in The Territory trilogy, The Territory, Escape follows Noa, Raf and Jack as they battle through a world of raiders, mosquito swarms, and psychopathic prisoners. Noa faces her own battle too – is it just friendship that drives her and if not, is Jack still even hers to claim?

An excellent and insightful read - A Booktrust ‘Books we like: December 2016’

Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games … topical and edgy - Zoe Toft 

The Territory - Truth (Book 3)

A nail-biting conclusion to the award-winning series, The Territory: Truth explores fake news, education and global warming and asks how far can you go and still be on the right side.

‘Gripping and thought-provoking … vivid and fresh’ - The Guardian

‘A great, page-turning read that will appeal to reluctant readers and bookworms alike’- Booktrust

Booksale:

 Books are available for pre-order at a reduced rate direct from the publisher (Firefly Press):

 I book: £7

2 books: £10

All 3 books: £15

Please transfer the correct amount to:

Firefly Press Ltd

acc no 29216311

sort code: 52-21-63

with reference: [Your daughter’s name] followed by the books you wish to order e.g. T1 for Book 1, T2 for Book 2, T3 for Book 3.  Books can also be ordered in combination: T12, T123 etc

by Sunday 27th January.  The books will be delivered to school for the book signing at the end of the talk.

Some books will also be available on the day for cash purchases.