Important News

English

pile of books

"English is the language of the future, the most important tool you’ll ever need, no matter what career you choose."

 Benjamin Zephaniah, Poet, Writer, Actor

"It’s in literature that true life can be found. It’s under the mask of fiction that you can tell the truth."

 Alexander Solzhenitsyn, Nobel Prize Winner

The English Department’s aim is to develop a love of the English language and literature and to ensure that our students are confident, imaginative and creative communicators. The study of English language gives students the flexibility and confidence to choose what they say and write in a variety of situations. Through Literature, students explore what it is to live in the varied, ever changing and exciting world we inhabit.

The habit of reading for pleasure and its value as a skill for life underpins all aspects of student learning. Students become enthusiastic and critical readers of novels, plays, and poetry. Drama comes alive in the classroom and through productions. They learn to be discriminating readers of newspapers, magazines and other media. 

In the English Department, we encourage a range of interactive learning styles. Students work on their own, or with others to produce both written and oral work, multi-media presentations and drama role-plays. 

As a specialist subject, we aim to offer an exciting and modern programme of theatre visits, student conferences, overseas trips, writing competitions, speaking challenges and reading clubs.

Department Staff

Director of English
Mrs N Bhatt
Deputy Director of English Mr A Tullett atullett3@suttonmail.org
Teacher of English
Mrs A Davis
KS5 Coordinator
Mrs N Patel
Literacy and AR coordinator Ms T Ishola oishola1@suttonmail.org
Teacher of English Ms R Barnes rbarnes22@suttonmail.org
Teacher of English Miss L Bailey lbailey51@suttonmail.org
Teacher of English Miss R Kelly-Smith rkellysmith5@suttonmail.org
Teacher of English Miss J Oladogba joladogba1@suttonmail.org
Teacher of English Mr M Nott mnott1@suttonmail.org
Teacher of English
(Maternty Leave)
Mrs L Jones ljones154@suttonmail.org
Teacher of English Mrs N Bonfanti  

 





    Awards